No. A certified physician or provider must perform an evaluation and provide a treatment plan for a “debilitating medical condition” as defined under the Florida Medical Marijuana Compassionate Care Act.
No. The state does not recognize “prescriptions” for medical cannabis. Your data will be uploaded into multiple state data bases for further action. The state will contact you directly to arrange for you to receive a Registry Identification Card that will allow you to go to an independent licensed dispensary in your area.
The positive response to the legalization of medical cannabis has overwhelmed the state’s resources. By the end of the summer of 2017, the wait has already passed 21 days from the time of entry into the state data bases to issuance of a Registry Identification Card.
Yes. The state requires periodic reevaluations by certified professionals. The time intervals between medical evaluations mandated by the State of Florida may change. The Compassionate Care of Florida staff will keep you updated, in order to schedule appropriate follow-up appointments that are required to maintain your state issued Registry Identification Card.
Cannabinoids are the therapeutic components of cannabis. The two most commonly studied molecules are THC and CBD. Our bodies have an endocannabinoid system that produces cannabinoids similar to those found in cannabis.
The Florida Legislature has passed Amendment 2, expanding the specific conditions that can be treated with medical cannabis. The conditions approved for medical cannabis are:
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
Chronic nonmalignant pain
Medical conditions of the same kind or class as comparable to those listed above
Symptoms We Can Treat with Medical Cannabis:
Along with the conditions listed above, Amendment 2 allows licensed MMJ physicians to recommend medical cannabis for medical conditions of the same kind or class as comparable to those listed above. What does this mean? If a patient is suffering from symptoms that are similar to those listed and is otherwise qualified, the licensed Florida MMJ doctor can recommend medical marijuana.
Loss of appetite
Abdominal pain and constipation
Please contact our office to discuss whether your symptoms would qualify you to receive medical marijuana. We will gladly answer any questions you may have while determining if cannabis treatment is right for you.
Compassionate Care of Florida does not evaluate patients without a qualifying condition under Amendment 2. Medical records from your primary care physician, or other diagnosing physicians, will be required to qualify under Amendment 2.
Cannabis treatment is still prohibited under federal law. We are unable to accept insurance, Medicare, or Medicaid at this time.
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, and cash are all acceptable forms of payment.
New Florida laws are in flux; however, the state has extended the certification period to every 210 days (every 30 weeks). Additional monitoring would typically be required for patients who are suffering from debilitating conditions or who have never used cannabis as a medical treatment. Under Amendment 2, physicians may recommend monitoring in compliance with the recommended treatment plan.
Patients that qualify as seasonal may use two of the following to establish residency:
1. A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or residential rental or lease agreement.
2. One proof of residential address from the seasonal resident’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the seasonal resident resides and a statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident resides stating that the seasonal resides does reside with him or her.
3. A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry.
4. A utility bill, not more than 2 months old.
5. Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings, or investment account statements, not more than 2 months old.
6. Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old.
7. Any other documentation that provides proof of residential address as determined by department rule. A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental or lease agreement.
No. Currently smoking marijuana is not legal in the state of Florida, under Amendment 2.